Minister Announces The PALS Awards 2014

Minister Announces The PALS Awards 2014

Western Australia Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Peter Collier

Harvey Primary School Gets Top Marks For Noongar Cultural Program

Victor P Taffa

  • Harvey Primary School named the overall winner in the PALS Awards 2014
  • Recognised for the development of a whole-school cultural program

Aboriginal Affairs Minister Peter Collier announced the recipients of the PALS Awards 2014 today at a celebratory event in the Parliament House courtyard.







PALS (Partnership, Acceptance, Learning, Sharing) are an initiative of the Department of Aboriginal Affairs that encourages young people to take a leadership role in strengthening the relationships that exist in their local community between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people.

Mr. Collier said the winning project was a fantastic example of how the PALS program was used in schools to build cultural awareness and understanding through shared experiences.

“Harvey Primary School ran activities during NAIDOC week that included Noongar language lessons, dancing, art, a football clinic, storytelling, a cook-up and a focus on bush medicine.” Mr. Collier said.

“This was a fantastic project that allowed all students to engage with Aboriginal culture through something that appealed to them, be it sport, art, storytelling or food.”

“The continuing success of the PALS program demonstrates the willingness of young people to embrace reconciliation and cultural awareness.”

“The program allows non-Aboriginal students to learn more about our Aboriginal culture in an engaging way, and creates an opportunity for our Aboriginal students to be proud of their culture and history.”

In 2014, 188 schools across the State co-ordinated 225 PALS projects.

“I congratulate all of the schools involved for their willingness to participate and for their contribution to ongoing reconciliation efforts.” the Minister said.

The winning and finalist schools in each category are:

Aboriginal Language

  • Winner: Glen Huon Primary School (Eaton)
  • Finalist: Babakin Primary School (Wheatbelt)

Community Participation

  • Winner: Bremer Bay Primary School
  • Finalist: East Wanneroo Primary School

Student Engagement

  • Winner: Canning Secondary Behaviour Centre and Cecil Andrews Senior High School
  • Finalist: Assumption Catholic Primary School (Meadow Springs)
  • Finalist: John Pujajangka-Piyirn Catholic School (Mulan – East Kimberley)


  • Winner: Margaret River Primary School
  • Finalist: Wagin District High School


  • Winner: Ardross Primary School
  • Finalist: Australind Senior High School

The Arts

  • Winner: Coolbinia Primary School
  • Finalist: Christ Church Grammar School (Claremont)

PALS 2013 overall winner (Troy Cook Award)

  • Winner: Harvey Primary School

Fact File

  • 188 schools co-ordinated 225 projects across Western Australia
  • Applications for PALS grants for 2015 projects will open in early-2015