Minister Announces New Members Of The Queensland Veterinary Surgeons Board

Minister Announces New Members Of The Queensland Veterinary Surgeons Board

Queensland Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner

Queensland Veterinary Surgeons Board Gets New Blood

Victor P Taffa

A varied group of animal lovers have been appointed as new members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Queensland.

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner welcomed the appointments for a three-year term, administered under the Veterinary Surgeons Act 1936.

“I would like to congratulate the new appointees and thank the retiring members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board for their service.” Minister Furner said.

“This Board has an important role, with sole legislative responsibility for regulating veterinary science in Queensland.”

“Board is responsible for overseeing the system of registration and supervision of veterinary surgeons, administering the Act’s disciplinary proceedings and the approval of veterinary premises in Queensland.”

Minister Furner said the new Veterinary Surgeons Board approved by the Governor in Council is:

  • Dr. Fiona Thompson, Chairperson
  • Professor Nigel Perkins, Deputy Chairperson
  • Adjunct Professor Philip Moses, Elected Veterinary Member
  • Associate Professor Margaret Reilly, Elected Veterinary Member
  • Dr. David Thomson, Veterinary (Private Practice) Member
  • Ms. Eileen Thumpkin, Consumer Representative

Minister Furner said 5 of the 6 members who make up the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Queensland are veterinarians, with 4 nominated by the Minister and 2 registered veterinary surgeons elected by their peers.

“Board will be ably led by Dr. Fiona Thompson as Chairperson and Professor Nigel Perkins as Deputy Chair.” Minister Furner said.

“They, along with the rest of the board, have a wealth of experience that will be applied to the roles that will give the industry great confidence.”


Background to new members of Veterinary Surgeons Board of Queensland

Dr. Fiona Thompson

Dr. Fiona Thompson is currently Industry Liaison Officer for Biosecurity Queensland. From 2014 to 2017, Dr. Thompson was Project Manager for the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries’ Biosecurity Information Management System program. She has previously held the position of Chief Operations Manager for the Queensland Horse Council and worked in private practice in Queensland and Victoria.

Professor Nigel Perkins

Since graduating in 1984, Professor Nigel Perkins has worked in mixed and specialty veterinary practices, as a private consultant in veterinary epidemiology, and in academic roles in university veterinary schools in Australia, New Zealand and the United States. From 1998 to 2007, he was a member of the Board of Examiners of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Schools, including three years as the Chief Examiner.

Adjunct Professor Philip Moses

Adjunct Professor Philip Moses is a small animal surgical specialist, Founding Partner and Director of Veterinary Specialist Services, Underwood, and Associate Professor at the School of Veterinary Science, University of Queensland. He was President of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Surgeons 2010-2014 and is currently a Councillor of the College.

Associate Professor Margaret Reilly

Associate Professor Margaret Reilly is a registered veterinary surgeon, and currently the Director of Clinical Governance at James Cook University. Prior to this she was the Director of Veterinary Practices, acting as Chief Executive Officer for JCU Univet Pty Ltd, a not-for-profit company providing the commercial framework for the clinical training of final year veterinary science students. Previously, she owned (or co-owned) two privately-operated veterinary practices from 1996 to 2009.

Dr. David Thomson

Dr. David Thomson completed his veterinary science degree with honours and owns and operates a mixed veterinary practice at Killarney. He is currently Chair of the Killarney Memorial Aged Care Board and non-executive Director of the Warwick Credit Union.

Ms. Eileen Thumpkin

Ms. Eileen Thumpkin holds tertiary qualifications in social planning, development and education and a Bachelor of Arts. Ms. Thumpkin is a Queensland public servant and has held director roles in state development, education, stakeholder development, business services, community engagement and projects. She is currently a Director of the Queensland and Australian chapters of the RSPCA and has held the role of President for both in recent years.