Minister Announces New Appointments To The Board Of SA Water

Minister Announces New Appointments To The Board Of SA Water

South Australia Minister for Environment and Water David Speirs

SA Water Board Appointments

Victor P Taffa

State Government has announced new appointments to the board of SA Water, with new Chair Mr. Andrew Fletcher AO appointed for a three year period.

Mr. John Bastian AM, Ms. Janet Finlay and Ms. Fiona Hele have also been appointed today as directors of the board for a period of one year.

Ms. Sue Filby and Mr. Ian Stirling have agreed to continue on the board.

Current board members Ms. Carolyn Pickles, Ms. Sybella Blencowe and Hon. Karlene Maywald have indicated that they will not be continuing on the board.

“State Government has made a decision to refresh the board of SA Water as we look to take the organisation in a new direction.” Minister for Environment and Water David Speirs said.

“It is critical that SA Water has a board that provides strong direction and to deliver quality services at the lowest possible price for South Australian households and businesses.”

“State Government has exciting plans that SA Water will be fundamental to delivering, including opening up our reservoirs for recreational activities and lowering the cost of living in South Australia.”

“Andrew Fletcher AO is a proven leader with significant experience in both the public and private sectors.” Minister Speirs said.

“He has led transformational change in organisations including Defence SA and KBR Australia and I know Andrew will provide strong leadership and oversight to SA Water.”

“Other new board members bring a wealth of experience across key areas such as finance, economic development and strategic leadership.”

“All three have significant board experience and I look forward to their contributions.” Minister Speirs said.

“I would like to sincerely thank all outgoing board members for their service and I acknowledge their dedication, expertise and input as directors of SA Water.”

“They have played an important role in where SA Water is today and should be proud of their contribution.”

“I especially thank Carolyn Pickles for serving as chair of the board since 2017 and helping both myself and the Chief Executive, manage this period of transition.” Minister Speirs said.



SA                   South Australia