In Law & Order

Queensland Minister for Police Mark Ryan

46 First Year Constables Inducted In Townsville Ceremony

Victor P Taffa

Minister for Police the Honourable Mark Ryan MP, the Member for Thuringowa Aaron Harper and the Member for Townsville Scott Stewart, joined Commissioner Ian Stewart to welcome 46 new Police officers to the Queensland Police Service (QPS) in a graduation ceremony held at the Townsville Stadium this morning.

Graduating as First Year Constables (FYC), the new officers have completed 25 weeks of intensive training.

Recruit training program aims to provide recruits with a quality foundation, so they can deliver an excellent service to the community and ensure their Policing skills have developed to a level necessary for operational Policing, under supervision.

Minister Ryan said Police perform a vital role in the maintenance of law and order, and public safety.

“On behalf of the communities and the Government of Queensland, I am grateful for the 46 First Year Constables who have accepted their responsibilities today.” Minister Ryan said.

“Each has sworn they will maintain integrity, professionalism and accountability when serving and protecting the people of Queensland. Queenslanders should feel confident these standards will be met.”

“First Year Constables breathe new life into the Service and their unique experiences and enthusiasm.

“I wish all FYC’s the best for a successful career with the QPS.” Minister Ryan said.

Commissioner Stewart congratulated the FYC’s on their induction to the Service and announced they would begin their careers in the Northern and Central regions.

“These allocations are based on the resources, needs and requirements of the Service. We have allocated 18 First Year Constables to the Central Region and 28 to the Northern Region.” Commissioner Stewart said.

“I remember my induction ceremony well and I hope this morning’s ceremony is a memory that each FYC carries with them throughout a successful career within the QPS.”

“Role of a Police officer is like no other you are responsible for the safety and security of Queensland. There is no doubt that each of these new officers will experience some challenging situations, however there will also be many rewarding and humbling times.”

“I wish each officer a safe and fulfilling career and feel confident they will uphold the values expected of a Police officer in Queensland.”

Both local MP’s welcomed the on-going support for public safety in North Queensland.

“It is very gratifying to see the enthusiasm of these new recruits who have decided to dedicate their working lives to serving their fellow Queenslanders.” Member for Townsville Scott Stewart said.

Member for Thuringowa, Aaron Harper, described Policing as a challenging but ultimately very rewarding career.

“Fact is Police work delivers immense satisfaction to those who choose to devote their lives to serving the community.” Mr. Harper said.

New FYC’s will initially be deployed to the following areas:

Central Region

Mackay District

Mackay Station                                               4

Mackay Northern Beaches Station             2

Moranbah Station                                           1

Sarina Station                                                  1

Capricornia District

Gladstone Station                                            2

Rockhampton Station                                     3

North Rockhampton Station                          4

Wide Bay Burnett District

Bundaberg Station                                          1

Northern Region

Far North District

Cairns Station                                                 5

Edmonton Station                                           2

Smithfield Station                                           2

Mareeba Station                                              2

Atherton Station                                              1

Innisfail Station                                              2

Townsville District

Townsville Station                                          5

Stuart Station                                                  1

Kirwan Station                                                1

Mundingburra Station                                  1

Deeragun Station                                            1

Mount Isa District

Mount Isa Station                                           5


Start typing and press Enter to search