Mark Fennell Joins OCA Board

Mark Fennell Joins OCA Board

South Australia Minister for Local Government Geoff Brock

Strong Outback Representation On OCA

Victor P Taffa

The State Government has appointed one new member, and re-appointed three members, to the Outback Communities Authority (OCA), with all four members having strong ties to the state’s outback regions.

“Membership of the Outback Communities Authority provides a great opportunity to help shape the future for the people and communities of South Australia’s outback.” Minister for Local Government Geoff Brock said.

Mark Fennell, from Lambina Station around 70 km from Marla has begun his first term as an OCA Board Member, and joins the re-appointed OCA Chair Cecelia Woolford, Murnpeowie Station pastoral manager Joyleen Booth, and former Ninti One Limited Managing Director Jan Ferguson.

“Mark Fennell owns a pastoral contracting business and has a sound practical knowledge of remote services including water management, power provision, and road maintenance. He’s an excellent addition to the Board.”

“Mark, along with the three re-appointed Board members, will apply their skills and expertise to oversee and guide the OCA’s directions and priorities as outlined in the Authority’s five-year strategic management plan, annual business plan, and budget.” Mr. Brock said.

The appointments come as the State Government continues to negotiate with Alinta Energy for the OCA to take over operational management of Leigh Creek from January 1, 2017, with essential services in the town to be maintained.


The seven-member Outback Communities Authority manages the provision of, and promotes improvement in, public services and facilities for those areas of the state that don’t fall within a council region.

The Outback Areas cover about 65 % of the state, with approximately 4,000 people dispersed across various locations, pastoral and farming properties, and small communities.

OCA Board members are appointed for terms of either 18 months or three years to allow for business continuity and stability of governance.