Local Govt To Benefit Under $15 Million Mitigation Activity Fund

Local Govt To Benefit Under $15 Million Mitigation Activity Fund

Western Australia Minister for Emergency Services Fran Logan

Funding Open For Bushfire Mitigation Treatment Activities

Victor P Taffa

  • Second round of funding now open under $15 Million Mitigation Activity Fund
  • 17 regional local governments are eligible to apply
  • Bushfire mitigation treatment activities currently underway from first funding round

Up to 17 regional local governments with endorsed Bushfire Risk Management Plans are now eligible to apply for a share in $2 Million of funding, under the $15 Million Mitigation Activity Fund to treat bushfire risks in their area.

“There has been some significant mitigation work already under the first round of the Mitigation Activity Fund, so I would encourage all eligible local governments to continue their efforts and apply for further funding.” Minister for Emergency Services Fran Logan said.


“Congratulations to the City of Karratha and Shire of Wagin for having their Bushfire Risk Management Plans endorsed by the Office of Bushfire Risk Management and becoming eligible to apply for the Mitigation Activity Fund.”

15 of the local governments who are eligible this year have already benefited from the first round of funding, following the introduction of the scheme last year.

Local governments shared in $1.47 Million of Royalties for Regions funding to treat 374 bushfire risks across their communities, including reducing or clearing fuel loads that threaten housing and infrastructure assets, as well as creating escape routes for accommodation areas.

In this round of 2018-19 funding, up to 17 local governments can share in $2 Million to treat extreme, very high and high bushfire risks that have been identified in their Bushfire Risk Management Plans.

To be eligible for the Mitigation Activity Fund, local governments must have their Bushfire Risk Management Plan endorsed by the Office of Bushfire Risk Management.

Eligible local governments have until June 11, 2018 to apply for funding. They include the shires of:

  • Augusta-Margaret River;
  • Beverley;
  • Boddington;
  • Boyup Brook;
  • Bridgetown-Greenbushes;
  • Carnamah;
  • Chittering;
  • Donnybrook-Balingup;
  • Irwin;
  • Jerramungup;
  • Nannup;
  • Northampton;
  • Ravensthorpe;
  • West Arthur;
  • Wagin;
  • Woodanilling;
  • City of Karratha.

There will be another round of funding later in 2018-19.