In Legal Affairs

New South Wales Attorney General Mark Speakman

Legal Trailblazer Appointed As New NCAT President

Victor P Taffa

Attorney General Mark Speakman today announced the appointment of Lea Armstrong as a Supreme Court judge and as President of the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT).

“Ms. Armstrong is an exceptional lawyer, a trailblazer and a proven leader who has served with distinction over the past 3 years as the state’s first female Crown Solicitor.” Attorney General Speakman said.


“She has more than a quarter of century of experience in government and commercial law and is well equipped to lead the State’s super tribunal, NCAT.”

Prior to becoming Crown Solicitor, Ms. Armstrong worked as NSW Treasury’s first General Counsel. She advised the government on the development of laws that enabled the partial lease of NSW’s electricity network.

Earlier in her career, Ms. Armstrong served in a range of other senior roles in the Crown Solicitor’s Office, including as General Counsel and as an Assistant Crown Solicitor in commercial law and in administrative law. She also worked for Blake Dawson Waldron (now Ashurst) and was an associate for the now retired High Court judge Michael McHugh AC QC.

Ms. Armstrong holds a Masters of Law from the University of NSW, and a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the Australian National University.

NCAT is a gateway for almost all tribunal services in NSW. In 2013, it integrated 23 of the State’s tribunals and bodies and now operates 4 specialist divisions:

  • Consumer and Commercial;
  • Guardianship;
  • Administrative and Equal Opportunity;
  • Occupational.

In 2016-17, NCAT conducted more than 78,000 hearings in over 70 venues across New South Wales, with a focus on delivering outcomes efficiently, fairly and cost effectively.

Ms. Armstrong will be sworn in as a Supreme Court judge on 31 October 2018. On the same date, she will begin a 5-year term as NCAT President. She replaces Justice Robertson Wright who will now serve in the Common Law Division of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.



NSW               New South Wales


Start typing and press Enter to search