In Elections

Polling Day Saturday 27 August 2016

Northern Territory Statehood To Be Proclaimed On 1 July 2018

Victor P Taffa

The Northern Territory Election will be held on Saturday 27 August 2016 and is to be the last Northern Territory Election that will be held before the proclamation of Statehood on 1 July 2018 as Australia’s 7th duly constituted State within existing boundaries.

The new state is likely to be called the State of North Australia.

Upon the proclamation of Statehood the current Northern Territory Parliament and Legislative Assembly will be dissolved and Proclaimed as a State Parliament.

Statehood has benefited the lives of people in all other States.

Statehood will enable the new State to pass laws as it sees fits without having to bow and scrape to the Federal Government in Canberra.

Statehood will allow the new State to retain Mining Royalties from land that will in turn increase the wealth of the new State and enhance the lives of all people who lives in the State.

Statehood allows a State Parliament to pass laws enabling land owners to hold Torrens or Strata Title over the land that they own as is the case in the State of New South Wales.

On  1 January 1901, the Commonwealth of Australia was formed as a Federation of States. The New South Wales Legislative Assembly was dissolved on 11 June 1901 with an election held on 3 July 1901.


Northern Territory History

The Northern Territory has a long and proud history and the time is right for Statehood to be granted to The Northern Territory. The Northern Territory was established by New South Wales in 1825.

The Northern Territory was transferred to South Australia in 1862 and annexed from South Australia in 1911. The Northern Territory was dissolved in 1927 and reformed in 1931.

The Northern Territory Legislative Council was formed in 1947 and replaced with a Legislative Assembly in 1974. Self Government was granted in 1978.

An earlier referendum on Statehood was defeated in 1998 as the issue did not have bi-partisan support between the Country Liberal Party and NT Labor. The issue of statehood now has bi-partisan support from both parties.

The greatest advancement for Northern Australia will be a State of Northern Australia from within the current boundaries of The Northern Territory.

There are some people that like the name of the State of North Australia.

Currently, The Northern Territory has its legal hand held by the Federal Government and Territorians do not legally own their own land. In New South Wales people who own land have Torrens or Strata Title ownership whereas people living in The Northern Territory do not have this basic right.


Flag Of Australia

Flag Of Australia would not require alteration with a 7th State








Federation Of Australia

Australia became a Federation of States on 1 January 1901 after many decades of wrangling on issues largely over money. Colonial Borders were also boundaries for excise and taxation. After 1 January 1901, the Commonwealth of Australia took over many functions that Colonial Governments previously managed including Taxation.

The issue of a Capital City for the Commonwealth was also an argument between Sydney and Melbourne as to where it should be. To overcome this issue The Australian Capital Territory (A.C.T.) was a Territory set aside within New South Wales for a Capital City to be established.

From 1 January 1901 the Parliament of Victoria became the Commonwealth Parliament until 1927 when the Federal Parliament moved to Canberra.

On 1 January 1901 Australia’s Original Six Colonies became States as follows:

  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia

As the 7th State of the Commonwealth of Australia, legally The Northern Territory would have to change its name. The State of Northern Australia is in keeping with the States of Western Australia and South Australia.

The State of North Australia is in keeping with the State of South Australia.

As the 7th duly constituted State, Northern Australia would have a

  • State Governor
  • State Constitution
  • State Premier
  • State Parliament
  • State Flag
  • State Senate representation in the Commonwealth Parliament


Senate Representation

Senate Representation for original States is 12 Senators each. When Northern Australia becomes the 7th State of the Commonwealth the Senate Representation for original States would be 12 Senators per State.

Northern Australia would have 6 Senators initially and the ACT would maintain 2 Senators giving the new look Senate 80 Senators instead of the current 76 Senators.

The Commonwealth Constitution provides for original states maintaining equal representation and not less than 6 Senators. Australia became a Federation of States on 1 January 1901.


New Look Senate

A.C.T*                        2

New South Wales       12

Northern Australia**  6

Queensland                 12

South Australia           12

Tasmania                     12

Victoria                       12

Western Australia       12

Total Senators           80

*Australian Capital Territory

**Possibly named as State of North Australia


House Of Representatives

The new State of Northern Australia would retain 2 seats in the House of Representatives given that Senate numbers would increase to 6.

However with Statehood, Northern Australia will retain mining royalties that will drive the local economy which at present gets swallowed up in the Federal Treasury.

Proclamation of Statehood will be a very exciting and historic time for the new State.


Start typing and press Enter to search