In Technology

Western Australia Minister for Science and Innovation John Day

Finalists For Innovator Of The Year Revealed

Victor P Taffa

  • WA’s top innovators across a number of disciplines recognised
  • State Government supports innovation through programs and awards
  • Prize pool of $200,000 includes professional services and mentoring

Science and Innovation Minister John Day today announced the finalists in the 2011 WA Innovator of the Year Awards which continue to attract the State’s best creative thinkers.

“Treating diabetes without needles, predicting mechanical failure before it happens, an automatic car log book, and microbes giving us clean water are just a few of the innovative ideas that have reached the finals in the 2011 WA Innovator of the Year Awards.” Mr. Day said.

“Western Australia is renowned for producing some of the world’s most outstanding innovations and the State Government’s support fosters this culture through programs such as these awards.”

“With a prize pool of $200,000 including professional services and mentoring, these awards provide a financial boost for creative thinkers to turn their ideas into commercial reality whilst benefiting the economy and the community of WA.”

“Innovation and its transition to a commercial outcome are critical to creating competitive businesses and a thriving and prosperous society.”

Apart from two main categories ‘start up’ and ‘growth’; there are now two additional encouragement awards in the areas of oil and gas and broadband applications.

“Also for the first time, and as a measure of the significance of these awards, they have a patron in Chief Scientist of Western Australia, Professor Lyn Beazley.” the Minister said.


Fact File

  • The awards are administered by the Department of Commerce with the main sponsors being Mitsubishi Corporation, Woodside, IInet and AusIndustry
  • Winners will be announced on November 3


The finalists for the 2011 Mitsubishi WA Innovator the Year Awards and the Encouragement Awards are:

Mitsubishi Start-up category

• Curtin University – Orally bio-available insulin-like drug
• Encore Automation – GET Tooth Fairy
• Intium Energy Limited – Conveyor Roller Monitoring Sensor
• Digital Matter Pty Ltd – GPS Log Book

Mitsubishi Growth category

• Inhouse Group Pty Ltd – Insights
• Marine Easy Clean – The Water Cleanser
• Magellan Powertronics – Grid Power Support system
• Meridian Safety Pty Ltd – T-Line Safety System

Woodside Oil and Gas Encouragement Award

• The University of Western Australia – O’Tube
• Maxbend Pty Ltd – Maxbend
• Nauti-Craft Pty Ltd – Nauti-craft Marine Suspension Systems
• Curtin University of Technology – A Versatile Pyrolysis Technology
• Site Visuals – Sitevisuals – Remote Visual Monitoring

IINet Encouragement award for innovation in superfast broadband applications

• Edith Cowan University – Wireless Token Network
• MagnePath Pty Ltd – Dive-in Medical Imaging Platform and Portal
• iCetana Pty Ltd – iCetana’s Intelligent Surveillance Video Application
• iWebGate – DMZ in a Box
• Edith Cowan University – Tunable Laser


Start typing and press Enter to search