House Of Representatives Increases To 151 Divisions

House Of Representatives Increases To 151 Divisions

Australian Electoral Commission

Formal Commencement Of Redistributions In Victoria South Australia And The ACT

Victor P Taffa

Redistributions of federal electoral boundaries in Victoria, South Australia and the ACT have formally commenced today.

Redistribution processes were triggered following a determination on Thursday of the number of members of the House of Representatives to which each state and territory will be entitled at the next federal general election.

Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said that the formal commencement of these redistributions sets a timeframe for the determination of each process.

“Electoral Commission met promptly on Friday to direct the commencement of redistributions following Thursday’s determination.” Commissioner Rogers said.

“Based on population changes, it was determined Victoria and the ACT would each gain one seat and South Australia would lose one seat at the next federal election.”

Independent Redistribution Committees will be appointed to each redistribution and the Committees will be supported by small secretariats of staff from the AEC.

Redistribution process provides opportunities for individuals and organisations to propose where the electoral division boundaries could be located, or the name of an electoral division.

Members of the public will be invited to submit their suggestions about the redistribution. Guidelines are available to assist people or organisations interested in submitting their suggestions.

Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 requires a redistribution of federal electoral divisions to occur when the number of members of the House of Representatives to which a state or territory is entitled has changed.

Changed entitlements are:

  • Victoria: Increase from 37 to 38 seats
  • ACT: Increase from 2 to 3 seats
  • SA: Decrease from 11 to 10 seats


Federal Electoral Division Entitlements

State/territory Total Population       Population Quota      Result Members        Change

NSW                   7,797,791                    164,788.61806            47.31996         47        –

VIC                      6,244,227                    164,788.61806            37.89234         38        +1

QLD                     4,883,739                    164,788.61806            29.63639         30        –

WA                        2,567,788                    164,788.61806            15.58231         16        –

SA                           1,716,966                    164,788.61806            10.41920         10        -1

TAS                         519,050                       164,788.61806            3.14979           5          –

ACT                         419,256                       164,788.61806            2.54420           3          +1

NT                            247,512                       164,788.61806            1.50200           2          –

Total number of members of the House of Representatives         151      +1



(AEC)             Australian Electoral Commission

(ACT)              Australian Capital Territory

(NSW)             New South Wales

(NT)                Northern Territory

(QLD)             Queensland

(SA)                South Australia

(TAS)              Tasmania

(VIC)              Victoria

(WA)               Western Australia