In Elections

Australian Capital Territory Gains 1 Additional Seat

Victor P Taffa

At the 18 May 2019 Federal Election there will be 151 seats contested for the House of Representatives.

This is an increase of 1 seat from the 2016 Federal Election with the new seat of Bean being created in The Australian Capital Territory.

According to the Australian Electoral Commission the new seat of Bean is named after Charles Edwin Woodrow Bean, 1879–1968, Australia’s official correspondent to the Australian Imperial Force in World War One, editor of the Official History of Australia in the War of 1914–1918 and primary advocate to establish the Australian War Memorial.

Following electoral redistributions there have been boundary changes with new names for some House of Representatives Divisions.

New House of Representatives Divisions at the 2019 Federal Election include:

  • Bean
  • Clark
  • Cooper
  • Fraser
  • Macnamara
  • Monash
  • Nicholls
  • Spence

Names Of Federation Seats In Current Use At 2019 Federal Election:

Australia became a Federation of States and a nation on 1 January 1901.

There are 43 Federation seats that were used on 1 January 1901 which are being used at the 2019 Federal Election and the new 151 seat House of Representatives Chamber after 18 May 2019.

Although electoral boundaries of these 43 seats have changed with electoral redistributions since 1 January 1901.

These are as follows:

  • Adelaide
  • Ballarat
  • Barker
  • Bendigo
  • Boothby
  • Bradfield
  • Brisbane
  • Calare
  • Capricornia
  • Corangamite
  • Corio
  • Cowper
  • Eden-Monaro
  • Flinders
  • Fremantle
  • Gippsland
  • Grey
  • Herbert
  • Hume
  • Hunter
  • Indi
  • Kennedy
  • Kooyong
  • Macquarie
  • Maranoa
  • Maribyrnong
  • Melbourne
  • Moreton
  • New England
  • Newcastle
  • North Sydney
  • Oxley
  • Parkes
  • Parramatta
  • Perth
  • Richmond
  • Riverina
  • Robertson
  • Swan
  • Wannon
  • Wentworth
  • Werriwa
  • Wide Bay

House Of Representatives Divisions named after Prime Ministers include:

  • Barton
  • Bruce
  • Chifley
  • Curtin
  • Deakin
  • Fadden
  • Fisher
  • Forde
  • Fraser
  • Gorton
  • Holt
  • Hughes
  • Lyons
  • McEwen
  • McMahon
  • Menzies
  • Page
  • Reid
  • Scullin
  • Watson
  • Whitlam


Many seats in the House of Representatives are named after Prime Ministers. In South Australia many seats in the House of Assembly are named after State Premiers.

Seat of Fraser

Seat of Fraser in Victoria is a new seat at the 2019 Federal Election named after Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser. Currently there are no seats named who have served after Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser.

Seat of Cook

Seat of Cook in New South Wales is named after Captain James Cook and not Prime Minister Joseph Cook who served between 24 June 1913-7 September 1914.

Prime Minister Joseph Cook is the only deceased Prime Minister who has not been honoured with a seat in the House of Representatives.

Perhaps the seat of Cook could be jointly honoured between Captain James Cook and Prime Minister Joseph Cook.

Seat of Lyons

Seat of Lyons in Tasmania is named jointly after Prime Minister Joseph Lyon and Dame Enid Muriel Lyons.

Dame Enid Muriel Lyons 1897–1981 was the first woman member of the House of Representatives (1943-51) and first woman to hold Cabinet rank as Vice-President of the Executive Council (1949–51).


Australia’s longest serving Prime Minister Sir Robert Menzies served two terms between:

  • 19 December 1949-26 January 1966 (16 Years 38 Days)
  • 26 April 1939-29 August 1941(2 Years 125 Days)

Start typing and press Enter to search