Hon. Eric Michael Heenan QC Appointed As Electoral Distribution Commissioner

Hon. Eric Michael Heenan QC Appointed As Electoral Distribution Commissioner

Western Australia Premier Colin Barnett

Western Australia Minister For Electoral Affairs Peter Collier

New Electoral Commissioner Appointed

Victor P Taffa

  • Bipartisan support for newest Electoral Distribution Commissioner

Former Supreme Court of Western Australia Judge, the Hon. Eric Michael Heenan QC, has been appointed to a five-year term as a Western Australian Electoral Distribution Commissioner.

Premier Colin Barnett said Mr. Heenan’s appointment was in accordance with the Electoral Act 1907 (WA) and recently approved by the Governor of Western Australia.

“Mr Heenan is highly regarded in legal and judicial circles and is eminently suitable to fulfil the recently vacated position.” Premier Barnett said.

“He served more than 13 years on the bench of the Supreme Court of Western Australia prior to his retirement in 2015, and brings significant and appropriate experience to the role.”

Electoral Affairs Minister Peter Collier said Mr. Heenan joined two existing Electoral Distribution Commissioners David Kerslake and Government Statistician Tom Joseph.

“It is the function of the three Electoral Distribution Commissioners to determine district and region boundaries in line with the Act.” Minister Collier said.

“Under the Act, one Electoral Distribution Commissioner is to be a person with judicial experience, appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Premier for a term of up to five years. Mr. Heenan will also act as chairman for the Commission.”

Minister Collier said it was also a requirement that the appointment of a Commissioner followed consultation with leaders of parliamentary parties including independent members, and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of WA.

“All necessary persons have been consulted and each indicated support for the proposed appointment.” Minister Collier said.

WA Minister for Electoral Affairs Peter Collier









Mr. Heenan replaces the Hon. Neville Owen, whose five-year term expired on December 28, 2016.

Fact File

  • Electoral Act 1907 (WA) requires consultation with the Chief Justice and Parliamentary Party leaders and independent members of State Parliament