In Literary & Arts

Western Australia Minister for Heritage David Templeman

New Appointments To Heritage Council

Victor P Taffa

  • First Heritage Council to be formed under the new Heritage Act 2018
  • 3 new members to add to the wealth of heritage knowledge and expertise
  • Appointments support State Government’s commitment to gender equity on boards

3 new members and 6 returning members have been appointed to the Heritage Council of Western Australia, the first Council to be formed under the new Heritage Act 2018.

New members are former President of the Western Australia Legislative Council Hon. John Cowdell, former CEO of Heritage Perth Leigh Barrett, and local historian and author Richard Offen.

“This is the first Heritage Council to be appointed under the new Heritage Act 2018. The mix of new and existing board members brings a balance of skills, experience and innovation to the Council’s work of advising the Government on heritage matters and making recommendations regarding places on the State Heritage Register.” Minister for Heritage David Templeman said.

“I thank outgoing Council members Rob Druitt, Philip Griffiths, and Professor John Stephens for giving their time and expertise to Western Australia’s heritage through their service on the Heritage Council. I particularly acknowledge Mr. Griffiths who has contributed his time and enthusiasm to the Council for 27 years.”

Heritage Council of Western Australia is the State Government’s advisory body on historic heritage matters. The Council comprises 9 people appointed by the Minister for Heritage, based on their knowledge, experience and skills.

Anne Arnold will continue as Heritage Council Chair until the end of 2019, ensuring there is continuity between the former and new Heritage Councils.

Heritage Council of Western Australian members are:

  • Anne Arnold Reappointed as Chair
  • Leigh Barrett New member
  • Lloyd Clark Reappointed
  • John Cowdell New member
  • Sally Malone Reappointed
  • Jennifer Marschner Reappointed
  • Nerida Moredoundt Reappointed
  • Richard Offen New member
  • Dr. Brad Pettitt  Reappointed

Start typing and press Enter to search