Great Tiger Fullback Joins Greyhound Racing Board

Great Tiger Fullback Joins Greyhound Racing Board

Victoria Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

Former Top Cop Joins Greyhound Racing Board

Victor P Taffa

Minister for Racing Martin Pakula today announced the appointment of former Victoria Police Assistant Commissioner Emmett Dunne to the Greyhound Racing Victoria Board.

“Emmett Dunne is an outstanding addition to the Greyhound Racing Victoria Board and I congratulate him on his appointment.” Minister for Racing Martin Pakula said.

“Mr. Dunne has enjoyed great success as a high-ranking Police officer and his experience and insight as an ethical standards investigator will be a great asset to the Board.”

Mr. Dunne brings significant experience to the role after serving as a Police officer for almost 40 years before retiring in 2015.

During his Policing career, Mr. Dunne was the Assistant Commissioner of Professional Standards Command between 2010 and 2013, and the Assistant Commissioner of the East Policing Region until 2015.

He also served as the Chair of the Australian New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency Integrity Forum, and was awarded the Australia Police Medal in 2011 for his significant contribution and involvement in the force’s Operational Safety and Tactics Training Unit.

Mr. Dunne is a former VFL footballer, having played 115 games for Richmond between 1976 and 1983 and was a member of the Tigers’ 1980 Premiership Side.

He coached the reserves side and served as ruck coach from 1993 to 1995, and was also a member of the AFL Tribunal from 1997 until August 2016.

Mr. Dunne replaces former Victoria Police Chief Commissioner Ken Lay, who was appointed to the Board in March 2015.

“I thank Ken Lay for his dedication to the Board during the past 18 months and wish him all the best in the future.” Minister for Racing Martin Pakula said.

VIC Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

VIC Minister for Racing Martin Pakula









1980 VFL Grand Final Result

Victorian Football League (VFL) forerunner to Australian Football League (AFL)

Richmond defeated Collingwood by a then record margin of 81 Points to win its 10th Premiership at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Quarter by Quarter scores were as follows:

                                     G B P


1st Quarter                   6.5.41

2nd Quarter                  11.11.77

3rd Quarter                 15.17.107

4th Quarter                  23.21 159


1st Quarter                   2.6.18

2nd Quarter                  4.10.34

3rd Quarter                 5.18.48

4th Quarter                  9.24. 78


(G) Goals        worth 6 Points

(B) Behinds     worth 1 Point

(P) Points        Total Points


Richmond: Bartlett 7, Cloke 6, Wiley 3, Roach 2, Keane 2, Weightman, Jess, Rowlings,

Collingwood: Picken 3, Davis 2, Ohlsen, R. Shaw, Moore, Wearmouth,


Richmond and Collingwood are longstanding rivals when Collingwood defeated Richmond in the 1919, 1927, 1928 and 1929 Grand Finals. Collingwood could never defeat Richmond to the tune of the 1980 Grand Final margin. Richmond also defeated Collingwood in the 1920 Grand Final by 17 Points.