Government Delivers For Those In Need

Government Delivers For Those In Need

Victoria Premier Ted Baillieu

Victoria Minister for Community Services Mary Wooldridge

Victorian Taskforce Established For National Disability Insurance Scheme

Victor P Taffa

Premier Ted Baillieu today announced that the Coalition Government has established a new expert Taskforce to advise the Government on the establishment of a new National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) to provide lifetime support for people with a disability.

The Baillieu Government is committed to a new approach to disability funding, such as an NDIS, which would introduce a no-fault universal safety net similar to those operated by the Transport Accident Commission and WorkSafe for people with permanent or severe disabilities.

“The Coalition Government is committed to ensuring that Victorians living with disabilities, their families and their carers get the effective support and care they need.” Premier Baillieu said.

“This especially applies to Victorians either born with a disability or acquired other than in a workplace or car accident, and who currently have no automatic access to guaranteed support and care.”

“The NDIS Taskforce will be chaired by Mr. Bryan Woodford OAM, former CEO of the highly-respected disability organisation Yooralla.”

“The Taskforce will comprise of leading Victorians with a passion for reform, including people living with disabilities, carers, leaders in the disability sector and experts in finance, insurance, policy and Government.” Premier Baillieu said.

The Taskforce has been asked to inform the Victorian Government’s consideration of an NDIS, including:

  • Responding to the Productivity Commission’s draft and final reports;
  • An assessment of NDIS’s impact on people with a disability and their families, the Victorian community and economy;
  • Options for implementing an NDIS, including developing a broad community consensus on the case for an NDIS.

“The Coalition Government’s initiative has already ensured that NDIS is on the agenda of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG).” Minister for Community Services Mary Wooldridge said.

“In addition, we have ensured that Federal, State and Territory Community Services Ministers will meet in April specifically to discuss NDIS.”

“The Coalition Government’s NDIS Taskforce is a dynamic group undertaking a task vitally important to thousands of vulnerable Victorians.”

“I look forward to working with them to achieve real reform for Australians living with a disability and their families.” Ms. Wooldridge said.

VIC Minister for Community Services Mary Wooldridge

VIC Minister for Community Services Mary Wooldridge









Members of the NDIS Taskforce include:

  • Mr. Bryan Woodford OAM (Chair): Former CEO, Yooralla, and manager of other disability organisations; awarded an Order of Australia Medal for his services to people with a disability;
  • Mr. Richard Dent: CEO, E.W. Tipping and chairman of National Disability Services (Victoria); long involvement in the community services sector;
  • Dr. Chris Fyffe: Psychologist, former academic and consultant on disability and other issues; former regional director of Community Services Victoria;
  • Ms. Lesley Hall: CEO, Australian Federation of Disability Organisations;
  • Mr. Robert Kerr: Honorary research fellow at the Brotherhood of St Laurence; former Commonwealth Treasury economist; former Commissioner with the Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission;
  • Mr. Simon McKeon AM: 2011 Australian of the Year, Executive Chairman of the Macquarie Group (Melbourne), CSIRO Chairman, founding Chairman of MS Research Australia and philanthropist;
  • Ms. Fiona Smith: Barrister and former Chair of the Victorian Equal Opportunity Commission;
  • Dr. Jane Tracy: Education Director, Centre for Developmental Disability Health Victoria at Monash University and medical practitioner;
  • Mr. Ron Wilson: Executive Director, Health Insurance Restricted Membership Association of Australia and former member of the Victorian Parliament.