In Politics

Northern Territory Chief Minister Adam Giles

New Cabinet Delivers Stability For The Territory

Victor P Taffa

Chief Minister, Adam Giles, has announced the Country Liberals Government new Cabinet.

Chief Minister Giles said his Cabinet would provide stability to Government, the public service and all Territorians.


“This Government’s Cabinet has been selected purely based on merit and talent.” Chief Minister Giles said.

 “Work has been done in the past six months implementing important reforms and the make-up of this Cabinet will ensure that the Government’s agenda is continued.”

 “This Government will cut waste and reduce debt, Strengthen Law and Order, Grow a three hub economy, plan properly for the future and be accountable.”

 “The Cabinet has been selected with the aim of providing as minimal disruption as possible to the delivery of services to Territorians, which is the very core function of Government.

“It will provide clear direction moving forward.”

 “I acknowledge there has been some instability in recent days, however, I can assure the public service and all Territorians that our team is united and determined to get on with the job we have been tasked with governing the Territory.”

 In addition to his responsibilities as Chief Minister, Mr. Giles has taken the portfolios of Police, Fire and Emergency Services, Trade, Economic Development (Major Projects) and Asian Engagement. He has retained the portfolio of Transport and regained Corporate and Information Services.

Deputy Chief Minister, David Tollner is Treasurer as well as the Minister for Business. Mr. Tollner is also Minister for Employment and Training, Defence Liaison and Defence Industry Support.

John Elferink remains Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Minister for Correctional Services as well as taking on the portfolios of Public Employment and Statehood.

Robyn Lambley remains the Minister for Health and Alcohol Rehabilitation.

Peter Chandler remains the Minister for Education, Minister for Housing and Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment.

Willem Westra van Holthe remains Minister for Minister for Primary Industry and Fisheries, Minister for Mines and Energy, Minister for Land Resource Management, and Minister for Essential Services.

Alison Anderson remains Minister for Children and Families, Minister for Regional Development, Minister for Women’s Policy and also takes on the Local Government portfolio.

Matt Conlan remains Minister for Central Australia, Minister for Tourism and Major Events, Minister for Parks and Wildlife and Minister for Arts and Museums while regaining his previously held portfolios of Sport and Recreation and Racing.

Peter Styles is the new Minister for Infrastructure, Multicultural Affairs, Senior Territorians and Young Territorians.

“Peter Styles is extremely active in the community and has strong links to these portfolios.” Chief Minister Giles said.

“He is the new member on the team, and given his experience and knowledge of these areas, I have no doubt Peter will do an excellent job delivering for Territorians.”

Member for Goyder, Kezia Purick, will remain Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, while the position of Government Whip will be determined at a later date by the Parliamentary Wing.



Adam Graham Giles

Chief Minister

Minister for Police, Fire and Emergency Services

Minister for Corporate and Information Services

Minister for Trade

Minister for Economic Development (Major Projects)

Minister for Asian Engagement

Minister for Transport

David William Tollner


Minister for Business

Minister for Employment and Training

Minister for Defence Liaison and Defence Industry Support

Johan Wessel Elferink

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice

Minister for Public Employment

Minister for Correctional Services

Minister for Statehood

Robyn Jane Lambley

Minister for Health

Minister for Alcohol Rehabilitation

Peter Glen Chandler

Minister for Education

Minister for Housing

Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment

Willem Westra Van Holthe

Minister for Primary Industry and Fisheries

Minister for Mines and Energy

Minister for Land Resource Management

Minister for Essential Services

Alison Anderson

Minister for Children and Families

Minister for Regional Development

Minister for Local Government

Minister for Women’s Policy

Matthew Escott Conlan

Minister for Central Australia

Minister for Tourism and Major Events

Minister for Sport and Recreation

Minister for Racing

Minister for Parks and Wildlife

Minister for Arts and Museums

Peter Donald Styles

Minister for Infrastructure

Minister for Multicultural Affairs

Minister for Senior Territorians

Minister for Young Territorians


Start typing and press Enter to search