In Politics

Australian Electoral Commissioner Ed Killesteyn

Commencement Of Redistribution Of Federal Electoral Boundaries In Victoria

Victor P Taffa

The Electoral Commissioner, Mr. Ed Killesteyn, announced today that a redistribution of federal electoral boundaries in Victoria has begun.

The Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 provides that a redistribution of federal electoral boundaries is to occur when seven years has elapsed since the last redistribution. The last redistribution of boundaries in Victoria was determined on 29 January 2003.

“A redistribution is a redrawing of electoral boundaries to ensure each state has representation in the House of Representatives in proportion to their populations, and that there are a similar number of electors in the federal electoral divisions in each state.” Mr. Killesteyn said.

Victoria’s entitlement to 37 seats in the House of Representatives will remain unchanged.

A Redistribution Committee will be appointed to undertake an extensive process of consultation and provide opportunities for individuals and organisations to make suggestions and comments on matters affecting the drawing of the federal electoral boundaries. Advertisements inviting suggestions and comments about the redistribution will appear in newspapers during March.

The redistribution process is expected to be finalised on 17 December this year.

Should a federal election be called before this date then the electoral boundaries for Victoria that applied at the 2007 federal election will be used.

The most recent Federal election was held on 24 November 2007.


Start typing and press Enter to search