In Sport

Australia Meets France Fed Cup Final 2019 In Western Australia

Victor P Taffa

Australia will meet France in the Final of the Fed Cup on 9-10 November 2019.

BNP Paribas Final will be played at the RAC Arena, Perth, Western Australia. RAC Arena is a Hard Court Plexicushion Prestige, outdoor surface.

Australia has not won the Fed Cup since 1974 while France last held the Cup aloft in 2003. Clearly it is time for Australia to break its 45-year Fed Cup drought.


Overall Performance By Team


Winning Years: (7)

1964, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1974,

Runner-Up Years: (10)

1963, 1969, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1984, 1993,


Winning Years: (2)

1997, 2003,

Runner-Up Years: (3)

2004, 2005, 2016,


Fed Cup Tennis Team Competition

Fed Cup is the premier international team event in women’s tennis and is run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF).

Fed Cup was launched in 1963 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation (ITF). Until 1995 the competition was known as the Federation Cup.

Men’s equivalent of the Fed Cup is the Davis Cup. Australia, Czech Republic and the United States are the only countries to have held both Fed Cup and Davis Cup titles in the same year.

Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman











Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman

Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman dominated American women’s tennis before World War I, and won 45 U.S. titles during her career.

Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman overall won 16 titles at the U.S. Championships.

  • 4 in singles (1909, 1910, 1911, 1919)
  • 9 of her titles at the U.S. Championships came in 1909–11, when she swept the singles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles competitions for 3 consecutive years.

In 1973, Queen Elizabeth II made her an honorary Commander of the Order of the British Empire.


In 1919, Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman had an idea for a women’s team tennis competition. This was not adopted but she persisted, presenting a trophy at the 1923 annual contest between the United States and Great Britain being named the Wightman Cup.

Nell Hopman, wife of Australian Davis Cup Captain Harry Hopman, later took up Mrs. Wightman’s original idea.

In 1962, a British resident of the United States, Mary Hardwick Hare, presented a paper proving that support for such an event was overwhelming, persuading the ITF that it was a ‘good idea’ to have a team championship played over one week in a different venue each year.

40 years after Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman’s idea of a women’s Davis Cup, it became a reality.

In 1963, the ITF launched the Federation Cup to celebrate its 50th anniversary. Open to all nations the competition.

Wightman Cup

Originally the Fed Cup was named the Wightman Cup. In the same way that the Davis Cup was named and considering the domination of Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman in women’s tennis it would be more than appropriate to revert and rename the Fed Cup as the Wightman Cup.

Considering that it was originally the idea of Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman to have a women’s competition, it would not be out of place to revert the name of the competition back to the Wightman Cup.

Name of Fed Cup clashes with that of the name of a parcel delivery company and also the nickname of men’s tennis player Roger Federer which is Fed Express.

4 major Tennis Championships provides both men and women with equal standing in the game. Mens Team and Womens Team competitions should both be named after people of standing in Tennis History. Davis Cup has such a name. Fed Cup should revert to being named the Wightman Cup.

Both Dwight Davis and Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman were from the United States and as such the Fed Cup should revert to being named the Wightman Cup.

Editor Victor P Taffa attended St. Patrick’s College, Strathfield. Victor’s best friend at school was David White. Fed Cup should be renamed the Wightman Cup in honour of the person who originally wanted a female competition to rival the Davis Cup.


Fed Cup Trophy


Start typing and press Enter to search