In Sport

Victoria Minister for Racing Martin Pakula

New Appointment To Victorian Racing Integrity Board

Victor P Taffa

Andrews Government has confirmed the appointment of Elizabeth Clarke as a new deputy chair of the Victorian Racing Integrity Board (VRIB).

Minister for Racing Martin Pakula today welcomed the appointment of Ms. Clarke, who is a respected leader in the harness racing industry.

“Elizabeth Clarke has made a tremendous contribution to harness racing and the wider racing industry over many years and I’m extremely happy that she has now accepted this important position on VRIB.” Minister for Racing Martin Pakula said.

“VRIB was established as part of significant reforms to the integrity framework in Victoria and Elizabeth joins an incredibly well-credentialled collection of professionals performing this vital work.”

VRIB was established by the Andrews Government and commenced operations on August 1, overseeing governance and integrity issues across all three codes:

  • Thoroughbred racing,
  • Harness racing,
  • Greyhound racing.

Chaired by former Supreme Court judge Jack Forrest, VRIB has a broad range of functions including endorsing annual integrity plans, providing recommendations on integrity budgets, policies and licensing, and considering proposed amendments to the rules of racing.

“I’m thrilled to be selected as one of the deputy chairs of the Victorian Racing Integrity Board and look forward to working with Jack Forrest and the other board members.” Victorian Racing Integrity Board deputy chair Elizabeth Clarke said.

Ms. Clarke replaces recently-appointed HRV chief executive Dayle Brown as one of three VRIB deputy chairs, alongside barrister and former Family Court judge Peter Young QC and magistrate Jacqueline Billings.

Ms. Clarke served on the Harness Racing Victoria (HRV) board for seven years before she stepped down in July.

Ms. Clarke has also served on the HRV Integrity Council, as chair of the Harness Racing Advisory Council and as a member of the former Racing and Appeals Disciplinary Board.


Start typing and press Enter to search