Election Of Senators For Western Australia Federal Election 2016

Election Of Senators For Western Australia Federal Election 2016

Federal Election Polling Day Saturday 2 July 2016

Australian Electoral Commission

Western Australia’s Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of twelve Senators for Western Australia was completed today.

The successful candidates for the twelve Senate vacancies for Western Australia are (in order of their election):


Successful Candidates For The 12 Senate Vacancies for Western Australia

Candidate                                    Party

CORMANN, Mathias                     Liberal

LINES, Sue                                      Australian Labor Party

LUDLAM, Scott                              The Greens (WA)

CASH, Michaelia                            Liberal

STERLE, Glenn                              Australian Labor Party

SMITH, Dean                                  Liberal

DODSON, Patrick                           Australian Labor Party

REYNOLDS, Linda                          Liberal

BACK, Chris                                        Liberal

PRATT, Louise                                    Australian Labor Party

CULLETON, Rodney Norman          Pauline Hanson’s One Nation

SIEWERT, Rachel                                The Greens (WA)


Counting continues in all seats for both the Senate and House of Representatives. All election results can be viewed on the Australian Electoral Commission website.

Results in the 2016 Federal Election must be completed and declared by the return of the election writ to the Governors-General on Monday 8 August 2016.

The Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia, Marie Neilson said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the twelve Senators.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Ms. Neilson said.

Declaration Of The Poll

Ms. Neilson said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for Western Australia will take place at 10:00 am on Tuesday, 2 August and will be held at the AEC’s State Office, Level 13, 200 St. Georges Tce, Perth.