Election Of Senators For Victoria Federal Election 2016

Election Of Senators For Victoria Federal Election 2016

Federal Election Polling Day Saturday 2 July 2016

Australian Electoral Commission

Victoria Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of twelve Senators for Victoria was completed today.

The successful candidates for the twelve Senate vacancies for Victoria are (in order of their election):

Successful Candidates For The Twelve Senate Vacancies For Victoria

Candidate                                    Party

FIFIELD, Mitch                              Liberal

CARR, Kim                                      Australian Labor Party

DI NATALE, Richard                    The Greens

McKENZIE, Bridget                      The Nationals

CONROY, Stephen Michael         Australian Labor Party

RYAN, Scott                                     Liberal

COLLINS, Jacinta                           Australian Labor Party

PATERSON, James                        Liberal

MARSHALL, Gavin                        Australian Labor Party

HINCH, Derryn                               Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party

RICE, Janet                                      The Greens

HUME, Jane                                    Liberal


Counting continues in all seats for both the Senate and House of Representatives. All election results can be viewed on the Australian Electoral Commission website.

Results in the 2016 Federal Election must be completed and declared by the return of the election writ to the Governors-General on Monday 8 August 2016.

The Australian Electoral Officer for Victoria, Jeff Pope said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the twelve Victorian Senators.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Mr. Pope said.

Declaration Of The Poll

Mr. Pope said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for Victoria will take place at 2:30 pm on Thursday 4 August and will be held at the AEC Victoria State Office, Level 8 Casselden, 2 Lonsdale St, Melbourne.