Election Of Senators For Tasmania Federal Election 2016

Election Of Senators For Tasmania Federal Election 2016

Federal Election Polling Day Saturday 2 July 2016

Australian Electoral Commission

Tasmania Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of 12 Senators for Tasmania was completed today.

The successful candidates for the 12 Senate vacancies for Tasmania are (in order of their election):

Successful Candidates For The 12 Senate Vacancies For Tasmania

 Candidate                                      Party

 ABETZ, Eric                                       Liberal

URQUHART, Anne                           Australian Labor Party

WHISH-WILSON, Peter                  The Greens

LAMBIE, Jacqui                                Jacqui Lambie Network

PARRY, Stephen                               Liberal

POLLEY, Helen                                 Australian Labor Party

DUNIAM, Jonathon                         Liberal

BROWN, Carol                                  Australian Labor Party

BUSHBY, David                                Liberal

SINGH, Lisa                                      Australian Labor Party

BILYK, Catryna                                Australian Labor Party

McKIM, Nick                                    The Greens


Counting continues in all seats for both the Senate and House of Representatives. All election results can be viewed on the Australian Electoral Commission website.

Results in the 2016 Federal Election must be completed and declared by the return of the election writ to the Governors-General on Monday 8 August 2016.

The acting Australian Electoral Officer for Tasmania, Mr. David Molnar, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the twelve Tasmanian Senators.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Mr. Molnar said.

Declaration Of The Poll

Mr. Molnar said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for Tasmania will take place at 3 pm on Thursday 28 July and will be held at the AEC, 2nd floor NAB House, 86 Collins Street, Hobart.