Election Of Senators For New South Wales Federal Election 2016

Election Of Senators For New South Wales Federal Election 2016

Federal Election Polling Day Saturday 2 July 2016

Australian Electoral Commission

New South Wales Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of twelve Senators for New South Wales was completed today.

The successful candidates for the twelve Senate vacancies for New South Wales are (in order of their election):

Successful Candidates For The Twelve Senate Vacancies For New South Wales

Candidate                                                  Party

PAYNE, Marise                                              Liberal

DASTYARI, Sam                                            Labor

SINODINOS, Arthur                                    Liberal

McALLISTER, Jenny                                    Labor

NASH, Fiona                                                  The Nationals

O’NEILL, Deborah                                        Labor

FIERRAVANTI-WELLS, Concetta            Liberal

CAMERON, Doug                                         Labor

RHIANNON, Lee                                          The Greens

WILLIAMS, John                                          The Nationals

BURSTON, Brian                                          Pauline Hanson’s One Nation

LEYONHJELM, David                                 Liberal Democrats


Counting continues in all seats for both the Senate and House of Representatives. All election results can be viewed on the Australian Electoral Commission website.

Results in the 2016 Federal Election must be completed and declared by the return of the election writ to the Governors-General on Monday 8 August 2016.

The Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales, Doug Orr said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the twelve Senators.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Mr. Orr said.

Declaration Of The Poll

Mr. Orr said the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for New South Wales will take place at 10.00 am on Friday, 5 August 2016 and will be held at the AEC office, Level 13, 59 Goulburn Street, Haymarket NSW 2000.