In Fire & Rescue

Victoria Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell

Councils Begin To Receive Support To Aid Flood Recovery Process

Victor P Taffa

Flood-Affected Councils across Victoria have started to receive support payments from the Victorian Government’s $5 Million Local Government Clean Up Fund to assist their communities to clean up, recover and rebuild.

Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell said support payments totalling $1.4 Million had already begun to reach the bank accounts of the first 14 flood-affected Councils via a special electronic funds transfer.

“The impact of the floods on affected councils has been extensive, including not only stresses on the community, but on services and infrastructure as well.” Mrs. Powell said.

“This funding will assist with managing the collection and clean-up of household goods, furniture and appliances that have been damaged by the floods.”



Mrs. Powell said the $100,000 to each of the 14 initial councils is just the first set of payments being made to councils from the Local Government Clean Up Fund, which is jointly administered by the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) and the Victorian Government.

“The 14 Councils to be included in this first round of Payments were identified based on immediate need.” Mrs. Powell said.

“Over the coming weeks as the impact of these floods continues to be assessed, support from this fund will be provided to additional councils, with some of the initial 14 funded Councils potentially receiving further support.”

“Each council is different and will have its own needs and challenges, so this fund will help councils to help their communities recover.” Mrs. Powell said.

Mrs. Powell said the recovery process for local communities would take time but the Coalition Government was determined to support local councils as they cleaned up and rebuilt.

“I would like to acknowledge the many Mayors, Councillors, CEOs, officers, emergency services staff and volunteers who are already working hard to support their communities through this devastating time.” Mrs. Powell said.

The 14 Initial Councils receiving support payments from the Local Government Clean Up Fund are:

  • Ararat Rural City Council;
  • Buloke Shire Council;
  • Campaspe Shire Council;
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council;
  • Corangamite Shire Council;
  • Gannawarra Shire Council;
  • Hepburn Shire Council;
  • Hindmarsh Shire Council;
  • Horsham Rural City Council;
  • Loddon Shire Council;
  • Northern Grampians Shire Council;
  • Pyrenees Shire Council;
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council;
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council.

Start typing and press Enter to search