In Politics

New South Wales Deputy Premier John Barilaro

New South Wales Nationals Announce New Team

Victor P Taffa

New South Wales Nationals Leader and Deputy Premier John Barilaro today announced a new team to lead the Nationals in government over the next 4 years.

New South Wales National Party Leadership Team

New South Wales National Parliamentary Party elected the following leadership team:

  • National Party Leader, Deputy Premier and Member for Monaro John Barilaro,
  • National Party Deputy Leader and Member for Bathurst Paul Toole,
  • National Party Upper House Leader Sarah Mitchell MLC,
  • National Party Upper House Deputy Leader Bronnie Taylor MLC.

Deputy Premier Barilaro said the party has elected an experienced team to tackle challenges head on and deliver for regional New South Wales.

“I want to congratulate Paul Toole on being elected as the Deputy Leader of the New South Wales Nationals.” Deputy Premier Barilaro said.

“People of regional New South Wales have elected the New South Wales Nationals to a historic third term in government and they expect us to live up to our promises and make sure that regional New South Wales continues to be the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

“Paul is a good friend and an exceptional local member for Bathurst and together with the support of the National Party, we will make sure regional New South Wales is heard and gets its fair share.” Deputy Premier Barilaro said.

Paul Toole said he was humbled to be elected as the Deputy Leader of the National Party.

“New South Wales National Party has been a voice for regional New South Wales for 100 years and I am excited to work with Barra and the National Party in government to make sure our regions are heard and we are delivering for them.” Deputy Leader Toole said.


NSW National Party Deputy Leader Paul Toole

NSW National Party Upper House Leader Sarah Mitchell










Deputy Premier Barilaro passed on a special congratulations to Sarah Mitchell MLC who has become the first female to lead the New South Wales Nationals in the Upper House.

“I’m so proud to be the first female elected as leader in the upper house and I truly believe this will be a ground-breaking term in government for the Nationals.” Ms. Mitchell said.

“New South Wales Nationals have put faith in me to lead them in the Upper House and I will not let them down.”

NSW National Party Deputy Upper House Leader Bronnie Taylor










Deputy Leadership of the National Party was vacated by retiring MLC Niall Blair who served as Deputy Leader for two and a half years.

“I want to thank Niall Blair made for standing alongside me over the last two and a half years and for the immense contribution he has made to regional New South Wales.” Deputy Premier Barilaro said.

“Nationals are all members of a party that live and work in regional New South Wales and are focussed everyday on making our home a better place for future generations to come.”


MLC               Member of the Legislative Council


New South Wales Parliament has 2 Chambers.

  • Legislative Council is also referred to as the Upper House,
  • Legislative Assembly is also referred to as the Lower House.

Start typing and press Enter to search