Darwinbus New Year’s Eve Special Event Buses Operate Until 7 am On 1 January 2018

Darwinbus New Year’s Eve Special Event Buses Operate Until 7 am On 1 January 2018

Acting Northern Territory Chief Minister Nicole Manison

Free New Year Buses For Safer Territorians

Victor P Taffa

Acting Chief Minister Nicole Manison is encouraging Territorians to stay safe this festive season, and make use of the free special event buses operating on New Year’s Eve.

Northern Territory Government is working hard to deliver safer, more vibrant communities, with a range of programs to keep Territorians safe on our roads. 

“Darwinbus New Year’s Eve special event buses will operate again this year, providing a safe transport option for the public to attend New Year’s Eve celebrations around the Darwin and Palmerston.” Acting Chief Minister Nicole Manison said.

“We want to make sure Territorians have a safe, fun start to 2018, and the free buses are a great way of ensuring everyone does the right thing at New Year.”

“Free buses will operate from 7 pm New Year’s Eve to 7 am New Year’s Day.”

“Our Transit Safety Officers will be patrolling the network to manage antisocial behaviour and security guard hours have been extended through to 6:30 am New Year’s Day.” Acting Chief Minister Nicole Manison said.

Special event buses will depart from Mitchell Street (via Darwin Interchange) at 15 minute intervals to Casuarina and 30 minute intervals to Palmerston.

Casuarina, Palmerston and Darwin special event buses operating from each of the interchanges will pick-up and drop-off at all bus stops along the routes:

Ex Casuarina

  • Casuarina to Darwin via Rapid Creek, Nightcliff and Fannie Bay
  • Casuarina to Darwin via Lee Point Road, McMillans Road and Bagot Road
  • Casuarina to Palmerston via Leanyer, Karama, Vanderlin Drive and Stuart Highway

Ex Palmerston

  • Palmerston to Darwin via Pinelands, Berrimah, Winnellie and Stuart Highway
  • Palmerston to Casuarina via Pinelands, Vanderlin Drive, Karama and Leanyer
  • Palmerston Connector via Gray Bakewell, Rosebery, Bellamack, Woodroffe, Moulden and Driver

Ex Darwin: Mitchell Street and Darwin Interchange

  • Darwin to Casuarina via Fannie Bay, Nightcliff and Rapid Creek
  • Darwin to Casuarina via Bagot Road, McMillans Road and Lee Point Road
  • Darwin to Palmerston via Stuart Highway, Winnellie, Berrimah and Pinelands

Additional Route 14 services from Darwin to the Waterfront will run every 15 minutes from 6 pm New Year’s Eve to 1 am New Year’s Day dropping off and picking up passengers at the Convention Centre.

This is the 27th year Government has supported free New Year’s Eve buses which began in 1990.