Byford Speed Limit Switched On

Byford Speed Limit Switched On

Western Australia Minister for Transport Simon O’Brien

Byford Town Centre Safer With New 50km/h Variable Speed Zone

Victor P Taffa

A 50 km/h Electronic Variable Speed Limit was ‘switched on’ today through the Byford Town Centre to improve Pedestrian Safety and keep Vehicle Speeds Lower.

Transport Minister Simon O’Brien said the speed zone change was prompted by discussions between Main Roads WA and the Serpentine Jarrahdale Shire.

Mr. O’Brien said the changing nature of Byford was the catalyst for the new speed zone.

“Byford has moved from a mostly rural environment to an urban one and the associated increase in traffic volumes has resulted in a review of existing speed limits.” the Minister said.

“It is a major safety improvement for members of the Byford community, as many residents had expressed their concern when crossing the highway.”



“These improvements will go a long way to assist pedestrians and other road users to move about the area in safety.” Mr. O’Brien said.

The Minister said the 50 km/h Variable Speed Limit was being implemented on South West Highway between Abernethy Road and Pitman Way.

“The 50 km/h Speed Limit will operate between 7.30 am and 10 pm seven days a week. The existing 60 km/h will apply outside these hours when there is less traffic and pedestrian activity.” Mr. O’Brien said.