In Transport

Western Australia Minister for Transport Simon O’Brien

Speed Limit Changes to Improve Safety At Byford

Victor P Taffa

The Western Australia State Government has announced a series of proposed speed limit changes in Byford in order to enhance driver, road, and pedestrian safety in the area.

The changes affect speed limits at six locations and reflect the changing nature of the Byford living environment.

“Byford is moving from a strictly rural environment to an urban one and the associated increase in traffic volumes has resulted in a review of existing speed limits.” Transport Minister Simon O’Brien said.

“As a result the State Government has been working closely with both Darling Range MLA Tony Simpson and the Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale to come up with options for enhancing safety.”




“The intersection of Hopkinson and Thomas roads, for example, has had a 40 % increase in traffic volumes in recent years with nearly 8,000 vehicles per day using this intersection.”

“The fast rate of urban development prompted discussions between Main Roads WA, which has responsibility for setting and monitoring speed limits, and the Serpentine-Jarrahdale Shire Council.” Mr O’ Brien said.

The speed changes and locations are:

  • Thomas Road between Tonkin Highway and South Western Highway (SWH) – to be reduced from 90 km/h to 70 km/h;
  • South Western Highway at Thomas Road – to be reduced from 70 km/h to 60 km/h;
  • South Western Highway-Abernethy Road to Pitman Way (400m) – Install a 50km/h variable speed limit running from 7:30 am to 10 pm.  Outside these hours the speed limit will be 60 km/h;
  • South Western Highway from Nettleton Road to Cardup Siding  Road – to be reduced from 90km/h to 80km/h;
  • Abernethy Road between Hopkinson Road and Soldiers Road (near SWH) – to be reduced from 70km/h to 60km/h;
  • Hopkinson Road between Thomas Road and Abernethy Road -reduced from 90 km/h to 70 km/h.

Simultaneously, there is a planned reduction from 60 km/h to 50 km/h on Jarrahdale Road through the Jarrahdale town site in accordance with current speed zoning in rural towns.

The speed changes, with the exception of the introduction of the 50 km/h variable limit, would come into effect by the end of August. The variable speed limit, which will need electronic speed zone signs, would be introduced at the end of November.

Mr. O’Brien said the need for improved safety in this area has long been championed by Mr. Simpson.

Tony Simpson Darling Range MLA

Tony Simpson Darling Range MLA








Mr. Simpson welcomed the Minister’s announcement saying the speed changes were the outcome of long community discussions on the matter.

“Byford is the fastest growing suburb in Perth’s South-Eastern Corridor, and some of the higher speed limits can no longer be sustained in such a changing living environment.” Mr. Simpson said.

“There are 10 subdivisions under development now, and at least another three or four planned in the near future.

“Byford’s population has jumped more than 4,000 since 2006 and is set to rise to more than 33,000 in the next 10 years.” Mr. Simpson said.

Mr. O’Brien said another indicator of the urban and traffic growth in Byford was the commissioning last year of the town’s first set of traffic signals at the intersection of South Western Highway and Abernethy Road.


Start typing and press Enter to search