In Literary & Arts

Western Australia Minister for Culture and Arts John Day

Short List Announced For Premier’s Book Awards

Victor P Taffa

The short list for the 2008 and 2009 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards have been announced by Culture and the Arts Minister John Day.

Mr. Day said record entries had been submitted following the announcement earlier this year of the widening of the eligibility criteria and increased prize money.

“There were 404 entries in the 2009 awards, compared to 300 for those in 2008.” the Minister said.

“I am pleased to see so many entries, which reflects a Healthy Literary Sector in Australia.”

“The Premier’s Book Awards have a long and proud history and the prize money rose this year from $72,500 to $110,000, along with increased funding for judging, promotion and administration costs.”



Due to the high number of entries, the judging panels were increased from four to six members.

To be eligible, the work must have been published or produced in either the years 2008 or 2009. Authors must be citizens or permanent residents of Australia or the work must have Australia as its primary focus.

The award winners will be announced by the Premier at a special ceremony on Wednesday, September 1.


Start typing and press Enter to search