In Business

Australian Bureau Of Statistics

Australia’s Population Growth Remains Steady

Victor P Taffa

Australia’s population grew by 1.6 % in the year ending 30 September 2018, reaching 25.1 Million, according to the latest figures released by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS).

ABS Demography Director Anthony Grubb said that 395,100 people were added to the population in the year ending 30 September 2018, compared to 407,000 people in the year before.

“Growth rates varied across the states and territories. Victoria continued to have the fastest growth at 2.2 %, while the Northern Territory’s population decreased by 0.2 %. New South Wales grew by 1.5 % and reached 8 Million people.” Mr. Grubb said.

Net overseas migration added 240,100 people to the population and accounted for 61 % of Australia’s total population growth. This is lower than net overseas migration of 259,400 in the year ending 30 September 2017.

Natural increase contributed 155,000 additional people to Australia’s population, which was the result of 312,600 births and 157,600 deaths. This is higher than the natural increase of 147,500 in the year ending 30 September 2017.

Preliminary Data      Population at 30 Sep 2018

                          Population ‘000         Annual growth ‘000              Annual growth %


New South Wales                   8,023.7                        119.5               1.5%

Victoria                                   6,497.7                        139.7               2.2%

Queensland                             5,033.1                        86.0                 1.7%

South Australia                       1,740.7                        13.7                 0.8%

Western Australia                   2,602.4                        22.6                 0.9%

Tasmania                                 529.9                           6.0                   1.2%


Northern Territory                   247.2                           –0.4                 –0.2%

Australian Capital Territory    422.5                           8.0                   1.9%


Australia                                25,101.9                      395.1               1.6

Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne









Northern Territory And Statehood

Northern Territory was the only State or Territory to see a decline in Population Growth as at 30 September 2018 according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Northern Territory as Australia’s 7th Duly Constituted State within existing Boundaries will see a reversal in decline of Population.

Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory was established for the purposes to locate Australia’s National Capital City of Canberra.

Both Sydney and Melbourne could not agree on where Australia’s Capital City should be prior to the establishment of the Commonwealth of Australia on 1 January 1901.

Sydney and Melbourne disagreeing with each other has been an ongoing pastime ever since Sydney was established on 26 January 1788 and Melbourne was established on 30 August 1835 and Victoria’s Gold Rush of the 1850’s.

Sydney and Melbourne could not even agree on which direction that horses should run on racecourses. Horses on racecourses in Sydney and Melbourne run in different directions.

Much to Sydney’s dislike (or disgust) it is the Melbourne Cup that stops the nation for 3 minutes.

Melbourne Cup that was first run in 1861 is a handicap race for thoroughbred horses over 3200 metres. Melbourne Cup is known as “the race that stops the nation”.

Melbourne Cup is run each year on the first Tuesday of November on Flemington Racecourse.

Need for a national territory was flagged by colonial delegates during the Federation conventions of the 1890’s.

Australia became a Federation of States on 1 January 1901.

Section 125 of the Australian Constitution provided that, following Federation on 1 January 1901, land would be ceded freely to the new Federal Government.

Territory was transferred to the Commonwealth by the state of New South Wales in 1911, two years prior to the naming of Canberra as the national capital in 1913.

Australian Capital Territory was established on 1 January 1911 followed by Canberra on 12 March 1913.

Capital Cities

Capital Cities throughout the Commonwealth of Australia are as follows:

  • Adelaide is the Capital City of South Australia,
  • Brisbane is the Capital City of Queensland,
  • Canberra is the Capital City of Australia,
  • Darwin is the Capital City of Northern Territory,
  • Hobart is the Capital City of Tasmania,
  • Melbourne is the Capital City of Victoria,
  • Perth is the Capital City of Western Australia,
  • Sydney is the Capital City of New South Wales.

Start typing and press Enter to search