In Sport

First French Women’s Tennis Open Tournament Since 1973

Victor P Taffa

Queensland and Australia’s Ashleigh Barty have defeated Marketa Vondrousova 6-1, 6-3 to win the French Women’s Tennis Open in 2019.

Australia’s Tennis drought has been broken in emphatical style by Ash Barty. Now Australia has a new champion in Tennis.

Between 1962-73 Australian Women won the French Women’s Tennis Open 8 times in 12 years. These are as follows:

Year                Champion                              Runner-Up

1973                Margaret Court (AUS)            Chris Evert (USA)

1972                Billie Jean King (USA)          Evonne Goolagong (AUS)

1971                Evonne Goolagong (AUS)     Helen Gourlay (AUS)

1970                Margaret Court (AUS)            Helga Niessen (WEG)

1969                Margaret Court (AUS)            Ann Haydon Jones (UK)

1968                Nancy Richey (USA)              Ann Haydon Jones (UK)

French Open 1968- Open Era Tennis Begins May 1968

1967                Francoise Durr (FRA)             Lesley Turner (AUS)

1966                Ann Haydon Jones (UK)        Nancy Richey (USA)

1965                Lesley Turner (AUS)              Margaret Court (AUS)

1964                Margaret Court (AUS)            Maria Bueno (BRA)

1963                Lesley Turner (AUS)             Ann Haydon Jones (UK)

1962                Margaret Court (AUS)            Lesley Turner (AUS)



ARG               Argentina

AUS                Australia

BRA                Brazil

CZE                Czech Republic

FRA                France

UK                  United Kingdom

USA                United States of America

WEG               West Germany



Roland Garros Tennis Courts Complex


Start typing and press Enter to search