In Elections

Federal Election 21 August 2010

ACT Australian Electoral Commission Officer Dr. Cheryl McRae

Australian Capital Territory Senators Have Been Decided

Victor P Taffa

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of two Senators for the Australian Capital Territory was completed earlier today.

The successful candidates for the two Senate vacancies for the Australian Capital Territory are (in order of their election):

  1. Kate Alexandra Lundy (Australian Labor Party)
  2. Gary Humphries (Liberal)

The Australian Electoral Officer for the Australian Capital Territory, Dr Cheryl McRae, said that the Senate count had involved the keying-in of votes into a computerised system, and today an automated process was used to distribute preferences and determine the two elected candidates.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates.” Dr. McRae said.

“Approximately 76% of voters cast their ballot Above-The-Line on the Senate ballot paper while 24% voted Below-The-Line.” Dr. McRae said.

The successful candidates will be formally declared elected at 10 am, 14 September 2010 at Old Parliament House, Canberra.

All candidates, members of the media and the public are welcome to attend.


Start typing and press Enter to search