Attorney-General Announces New Tasmania Electoral Commission Appointments

Attorney-General Announces New Tasmania Electoral Commission Appointments

Tasmania Attorney-General Vanessa Goodwin

New Electoral Commissioners

Victor P Taffa

Attorney-General Vanessa Goodwin has announced that Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner, AM, Governor of Tasmania has appointed Karen Frost and Mike Blake to the Tasmanian Electoral Commission in accordance with the Electoral Act 2004.

Mr. Blake will serve as the new chair of the Commission, and previously served as Auditor-General of Tasmania from 2004 to 2016.

Ms. Frost has extensive experience in the community sector and as a polling booth official.

Mr. Blake and Ms. Frost have both been appointed for seven year terms.

Electoral Commission is crucial to maintaining an active democracy in Tasmania, particularly through its role in advising on and raising awareness of electoral matters.

“I would like to acknowledge and thank inaugural member and outgoing Chair Liz Gillam, who has made a significant contribution to Tasmania’s democratic process in establishing and overseeing the work of the Commission.”

“I also thank Commissioner Christine Fraser, who has provided dedicated and professional service to the Commission for the past seven years.” Attorney-General Goodwin said.