Arts Board Appointments Announced

Arts Board Appointments Announced

Victoria Premier Ted Baillieu

Victoria Minister for the Arts Ted Baillieu

Fresh Perspectives On The Arts With New Board Members

Victor P Taffa

Representatives from fashion, business, politics and academia will take up key arts posts with the announcement today of new board appointments for the State Library, National Gallery of Victoria and the Geelong Performing Arts Centre.

Premier and Minister for the Arts Ted Baillieu announced the appointment of:

  • Executive Chair and CEO of the Sussan Group Naomi Milgrom AO to the Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria;
  • Former Federal Member for Kooyong Petro Georgiou to the Library Board of Victoria;
  • Vice-Chancellor and President of Deakin University Professor Jane den Hollander, Golden Plains Shire Councillor Janet Blake and Michelle Heagney of Alcoa Australia to the Geelong Performing Arts Centre Trust.

“Victoria’s state-owned arts bodies need talented people to keep them efficient and focused and I am delighted that these accomplished leaders have agreed to join these boards.” Premier Baillieu said.

“These voluntary positions reflect a strong commitment on the part of the appointees to the cultural life of our state.”

Premier Baillieu said it was important for arts organisations to forge links with and to gain knowledge from broader industries.

“Our arts organisations benefit greatly from the strategic leadership of their boards who bring skills and experience from a range of sectors.” Premier Baillieu said.

“With backgrounds in business, academia and politics, these new members will complement the expertise already present in our boards and will help to guide the continued growth of these iconic Victorian institutions.”

“I welcome all the new appointees and look forward to their valuable contribution.”

All appointments are for three years or until 2014.

 Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria

Ms. Naomi Milgrom AO

Ms. Milgrom is the Executive Chair and CEO of one of Australia’s largest privately held retailers, the Sussan group, which includes the Sussan, Suzanne Grae and Sportsgirl brands. Under her 20-year leadership, the Group has grown to become Australia’s largest privately held specialty fashion retailer with over 550 stores and more than 4500 employees throughout Australia and New Zealand. She is chair of the L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival and of the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art. In 2010 she was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia for service to business as a leader and mentor in the fashion industry, and to the community through advisory and management roles of a wide range of arts, health and philanthropic bodies. Ms Milgrom served on the Council of Trustees of the National Gallery of Victoria in 2003-04.

Library Board of Victoria

Mr. Petro Georgiou

Mr. Georgiou has enjoyed a distinguished career in politics and multicultural matters. For sixteen years he was the Member of the House of Representatives in the electorate of Kooyong. He retired from this position in 2010, after serving since 1994. During this period he chaired or acted as deputy for a number of parliamentary bodies, including Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Science and Innovation. Mr. Georgiou holds a degree of Bachelor of Arts (Hons), majoring in politics from the University of Melbourne.

Geelong Performing Arts Centre Trust

Professor Jane den Hollander

Professor den Hollander has been the Vice-Chancellor and President of Deakin University since August 2010 and prior to this was the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at Curtin University in Western Australia. Professor den Hollander holds a first class honours degree in Science and a Master of Science degree from the Wits University in Johannesburg, South Africa and a degree of Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Wales. After many years in senior positions in UK universities, she moved to Australia in 1995 to take up a role at the University of Western Australia. For the past 15 years she has focused on management, leadership and policy development in higher education, most particularly in Australia.

Cr. (Jenny) Janet Blake

Cr. Blake has been actively involved in her local community for many years, and has served as a Councillor of Golden Plains Shire since 1996, including a period as its Mayor from 2008 to 2010. During her time as a councillor she has been a member of a number of committees as well as regional and Victorian local government committees. From 1986 to 1995 she was Treasurer of the Leigh Community Care Centre and has also served as a Board member of Hesse Rural Health. Cr. Blake has been active with Landcare since 1989, and in 1993, won the Primary Producer Landcare Award (Victorian Section). Cr. Blake is a director of a sheep, wool and crop farming enterprise.

Ms. Michelle Heagney

Ms. Heagney holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Melbourne and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Queensland/Mt Eliza Business School in Melbourne. She has had a successful career in the chemical and manufacturing industries, and is currently Sales Manager, Alcoa Australia Rolled Products. In addition to this she is a member of Barwon Health’s Human Research Ethics Committee and a Director of Geelong Kindergarten Association. She has a strong background in business management with sales and marketing experience.