In Legal Affairs

Victoria Acting Attorney-General Marlene Kairouz

Three New Magistrates Appointed

Victor P Taffa

Andrews Government has announced the appointments of Sharon McRae, Mia Stylianou and Simon Guthrie to the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria.

“These three new appointees bring decades of collective legal experience to their new roles and I congratulate them on their appointments.” Acting Attorney-General Marlene Kairouz said.

“Their expertise across a number of fields of law make them valuable additions to the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria.”

Sharon McRae

Sharon McRae has been a Judicial Registrar at the Magistrates’ Court since 2011, conducting hearings and making decisions to help magistrates manage their workloads. She is also a member of the Victims of Crime Coordinating Committee.

Before she was appointed as a judicial registrar, Ms. McRae was a solicitor at Robinson Gill Lawyers for 14 years, where she headed the Litigation and Commercial team and was the Pro Bono Coordinator.

Mia Stylianou

Mia Stylianou is a barrister practicing in criminal law, with particular expertise in jury trials involving sexual offences. In her 25 years as a lawyer, she has defended and prosecuted extensively in criminal and domestic violence cases.

She is on the Victoria Legal Aid Criminal Trial Preferred Barrister List and is a member of the Australian Academy of Forensic Sciences and the Victorian Criminal Bar Association.

Prior to joining the Bar in 2007, she worked for Victoria Legal Aid for more than a decade, and for most of those years was an Associate Public Defender with the Criminal Law Division.

Simon Guthrie

Simon Guthrie is an experienced solicitor specialising in civil litigation, including WorkCover, Transport Accident Commission, public liability, victims of crime and superannuation claims.

Mr. Guthrie is a senior partner at Ryan Carlisle Thomas, having worked at the firm in a range of roles since 1984. He also manages the firm’s Geelong, Ballarat and Melton offices.

He is a founding member of the Australian Lawyers Alliance, and a member of the WorkSafe Legal Liaison Committee.


Start typing and press Enter to search