In Welfare Services

Western Australia Minister for Child Protection Robyn McSweeney

Ida Curtois Awards To Highlight Achievements Of Young People In Care

Victor P Taffa

Child Protection Minister Robyn McSweeney has today highlighted the achievements of young people nominated for the 2011 Ida Curtois Achiever Awards.

Named in the honour of Ida Curtois, a former foster carer and president of the Foster Care Association of Western Australia, the achiever awards began in 1990.

“These young people have been or currently are in foster or relative care and have worked hard to become talented students who deserve to be recognised and encouraged to further their pursuits.” Mrs. McSweeney said.


“The aim of the awards is to provide financial assistance to young people aged 16 to 25 years who have been in the care of the Department for Child Protection and recognise them for pursuing additional education or training.”

This year, 18 nominations have been received for three award categories including:

  • University Achiever Award for a young person who has successfully completed year 12 and is eligible to enter a university course. Prize $4,000;
  • Technical and Further Education Achiever Award for a young person who has successfully completed year 12 and is eligible to enter a TAFE course. Prize $1,000;
  • Apprenticeship or Traineeship Achiever Award for a young person aged 16 and above who has successfully gained an apprenticeship or traineeship and is in their first year. Prize $1,000.

In addition, the Ida Curtois Inspiration Award will be presented to the most outstanding winners in the achiever awards.

“A record 19 winners were announced last year and to hear first-hand the achievements these young people have made and the adversities they have overcome to get to where they are now is truly inspirational.” the Minister said.

Mrs. McSweeney thanked sponsors Central Institute of Technology, Challenger Institute of Technology, Curtin University, Polytechnic West, Scitech, The University of Notre Dame Fremantle, The University of Western Australia, and Westralia Airports Corporation for their commitment to the 2011 awards.

Award winners will be announced at a presentation event to be held in Perth on Friday April 8, during National Youth Week 2011.


Start typing and press Enter to search