In Welfare Services

Western Australia Minister for Community Services Robyn McSweeney

Nominations Open For Community Service Excellence Awards

Victor P Taffa

Western Australia Minister for Community Services Robyn McSweeney today opened the State Government’s nominations for new Community Services Excellence Awards, celebrating outstanding community service by organisations and individuals.

Speaking at the Western Australian Council of Social Services (WACOSS) New Year Sector Breakfast, Mrs. McSweeney said the Department for Communities had joined in partnership with WACOSS to deliver the recognition and reward program.

“With generous support from Lotterywest, the department and WACOSS are working to ensure we celebrate the excellent services provided by WA’s not-for-profit community sector.” Mrs. McSweeney said.





WACOSS President Chris Hall, who is also chief executive officer of Uniting Care West, said the partnership approach recognised the important role the community services sector played in delivering vital services right across WA.

“With new categories and a simplified awards’ nomination process, I hope to see many incorporated community organisations tell their stories of their work so we can acknowledge their achievements and success.” Mr. Hall said.

There are three categories of the Community Services Excellence Awards:

  • For organisations;
  • Individuals;
  • For partnerships with business or Government.

A new initiative is the Sector’s Choice Award. Once finalists are announced, the community sector would be invited to vote for the entrant they think should be rewarded for outstanding achievement by their peers.

Winners will each receive a $5,000 grant from Lotterywest.

The awards ceremony will be held in conjunction with the 2010 WACOSS Conference, the broadest gathering of community service representatives in WA, in May this year.

Applications close on Wednesday March 10, 2010.


Start typing and press Enter to search