In Literary & Arts

Northern Territory Minister for Arts Culture and Heritage Chansey Paech

Northern Territory Literary Awards Celebrate Territory Writers

Victor P Taffa

Winners of the 37th annual Northern Territory Literary Awards were announced last night at a ceremony that spanned two cities.

“Northern Territory has a number of talented writers and this is made evident by the 190 creative submissions received this year.” Minister for Arts Culture and Heritage Chansey Paech said.

“I congratulate the seven award winners who were selected as the top picks in their categories and all finalists whose works were celebrated at last night’s event.”

Event was livestreamed from the Northern Territory Library in Darwin to the Araluen Arts Centre in Alice Springs and via the Library and Archives Northern Territory Facebook page.

This allowed those who usually attend the popular event to take part in the celebration while adhering to COVID-19 social distancing measures.

Northern Territory Government Awards celebrate the unique and diverse talent of the Territory’s literary community; support participation and achievement in culture and the arts; and build connections with the sector and wider Territory community.

Northern Territory Literary Awards are part of an ongoing program of Northern Territory Library and Archives (LANT) events to highlight the achievements of established and emerging writers, storytellers and prominent Territorians.

Participants have a chance to win cash prizes along with an annual membership and masterclass with the Northern Territory Writers’ Centre.

Nearly 200 submissions were received from multiple Territory locations including Katherine, Tennant Creek, Yulara, Alice Springs and Darwin with winners sharing the $5,700 prize pool.

Judges selected the winning compositions based on their excellence in craft, originality and sense of creative flair.

Topics covered by the winners and finalists included family relationships, death, rebirth and climate change. Other highly charged and original works touched on isolation brought on by COVID 19, the human condition and the environment.

Of the finalists in the short story, poetry, essay, young writer, flash fiction, non-fiction works and theatre categories, seven winners were chosen:

  • Brown’s Mart Theatre Award – $1,000
  • When the Clock Strikes Two– Sarah Rose Reuben and Jeffrey Jay Fowler
  • Charles Darwin University Creative Non-Fiction Award- $500
  • Mother’s Day– Susannah Ritchie
  • Charles Darwin University Essay Award – $1,000
  • To what extent does architecture of the paediatric department of the RDH promote a child’s mental wellbeing and healing process? – Nuhansie Wijesinghe
  • Flash Fiction Award – $600
  • Sardines– Kaye Aldenhoven
  • Kath Manzie Youth Award – $600
  • The Dripping Tap– Jethro Pollock
  • Northern Territory Writers’ Centre Poetry Award – $1,000
  • If I were a Bird– Johanna Bell
  • Zip Print Short Story Award -$1,000
  • Take Shelter– Miranda Tetlow

Awards celebrate emerging and established writers and demonstrate the important role literature plays in our community.

Northern Territory Literary Awards is one of the many events at the Northern Territory Library that champion storytellers in the Northern Territory.

Library and Archives Northern Territory manages the Awards in conjunction with Charles Darwin University and the Northern Territory Writers’ Centre.


Start typing and press Enter to search