250 Queensland State Schools To Become Independent Over The Next Three Years

250 Queensland State Schools To Become Independent Over The Next Three Years

Queensland Premier Campbell Newman

Queensland Minister for Education John-Paul Langbroek

Independence Day For Queensland State Schools

Victor P Taffa

More Queensland students will be given greater opportunities to reach their full potential and increase their job prospects with more state schools to be given a greater say in how they are run.







Premier Campbell Newman and Education Minister John-Paul Langbroek today announced 250 state schools would become Independent Public Schools in the next three years.

Mr. Newman made the announcement while visiting Cairns State High School, one of 50 Queensland state schools set to become an Independent Public School in 2015.

“Two and a half years ago, principals and school communities were shackled with red tape and regulation. Policy decisions were dictated to schools by a centralised bureaucracy with local parents and teachers given little say on teaching methods and programs.” Mr. Newman said.

“Since coming to office, we have been focussed on achieving better results and creating more job opportunities for Queensland students – by boosting teacher quality, improving student discipline and increasing school autonomy.”

“Thanks to additional funding from the Abbott Government and the overwhelming interest from school communities to be part of the initiative, a total of 130 schools will be Independent Public Schools by 2015 and that will rise to 250 by 2017.” Mr. Newman said.

“Giving parents and school communities a real say on what is best for their local school is helping to improve kids’ education and job opportunities. By working together we’ve made real progress, but there is more to be done to achieve better results.”

“The Newman LNP (Liberal National Party) Government’s vision is to give our Queensland kids the best education in Australia. Our strong plan for Queensland education will mean better learning and employment outcomes for our children.” Mr. Newman said.

QLD Minister for Education John Paul-Langbroek

QLD Minister for Education John-Paul Langbroek









Education Minister John-Paul Langbroek said research showed that autonomy could improve school performance and student results.

“From Malanda to Miami, Queensland state schools and their communities are also seeing firsthand the benefits of increased autonomy and the great results it can provide their students.” Mr. Langbroek said.

“We’ve seen innovative partnerships with local universities and industry groups, expanded music programs through partnerships with nearby schools, bring your own iPad programs and primary schools working with pre-Prep centres to ensure school readiness.”

“State schooling in Queensland has gone from strength to strength and we are determined to continue working hard to see that continue for many years to come.”

Principal Angela Toppin said she was thrilled that Cairns State High School would become an IPS in 2015.

“Being an Independent Public School will enable us to expand our programs even further – particularly in the performing arts, languages and our International Baccalaureate (IB) program.” Mrs. Toppin said.

“My first priority is to fund a middle years IB program with Edge Hill State School and enhance the teaching and learning of Chinese Mandarin as part of the global schools program.”

“I also plan to develop a sports performance centre in partnership with local sporting and community organisations.  Thanks to the IPS initiative we are now able to turn these goals into a reality.”

Member for Cairns Gavin King said it was great to know that even more schools would be given the opportunity to benefit from more autonomy and less red tape.

“I’ve already seen the great achievements of Edge Hill State School that became an Independent Public School this year and I have no doubt that Cairns State High School will follow suit.” Mr. King said.

“The extension of this program means that even more schools in Cairns will get the extra support they need to gain their independence.” The full list of 2015 Independent Public Schools are as follows:

2015 Independent Public Schools

  • Albany Hills State School
  • Ashmore State School
  • Bellevue Park State School
  • Boondall State School
  • Bounty Boulevard State School
  • Boyne Island State School
  • Brookfield State School
  • Burpengary State School
  • Burpengary State Secondary College (NEW SCHOOL OPENING IN 2015)
  • Cairns State High School
  • Caloundra State School
  • Caningeraba State School
  • Capricornia School of Distance Education
  • Centenary State High School
  • Childers State School
  • Coomera Rivers State School
  • Earnshaw State College
  • Eatons Hill State School
  • Elanora State School
  • Hilder Road State School
  • Jindalee State School
  • Jinibara State School
  • Kalbar State School
  • Kenmore State School
  • Kin Kin State School
  • Kirwan State School
  • Lake Clarendon State School
  • Mackay District Special School
  • Malanda State High School
  • Maroochydore State High School
  • Merrimac State School
  • Miami State High School
  • Mountain Creek State School
  • Nobby State School
  • Norman Park State School
  • Ormeau State School
  • Oxley State School
  • Pimpama State Primary College (NEW SCHOOL OPENING IN 2015)
  • Pullenvale State School
  • Rainworth State School
  • Redcliffe State High School
  • Samford State School
  • Seven Hills State School
  • Springfield Central State School
  • St Helens State School
  • Stretton State College
  • The Gap State School
  • Upper Mount Gravatt State School
  • Windsor State School
  • Yeronga State High School