25 Councils Now Activated Under NDRRA

25 Councils Now Activated Under NDRRA

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Bill Byrne

Mareeba Shire Council Now Activated Under NDRRA

Victor P Taffa

Today Mareeba Shire Council has been added to the list of councils across Queensland now eligible to access assistance under the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Bill Byrne said there are now 25 councils activated under NDRRA.

“While the heavy rainfalls across Queensland have been welcomed, the impact this significant rain has on some communities is not always positive.” Minister Byrne said.

“The ongoing rain in Gulf of Carpentaria, Cape York Peninsula and in to Western Queensland continues to cause localised flooding and cut some communities off to the rest of the state since before Christmas.”

“It is critical that we provide assistance to these councils to allow them to either prepare or re-build following floods and excessive rainfall.”

Minister Byrne said the funding through the program will help local councils with the costs of protecting their communities through things such as sandbagging, clean-up operations and repairing damage to essential infrastructure as quickly as possible.

Queensland councils now activated under the NDRRA are

  • Aurukun,
  • Barcoo,
  • Boulia,
  • Burke,
  • Carpentaria,
  • Cloncurry,
  • Cook,
  • Croydon,
  • Doomadgee,
  • Douglas,
  • Etheridge,
  • Flinders,
  • Hope Vale,
  • Kowanyama,
  • Mareeba,
  • McKinlay,
  • Mornington,
  • Mount Isa,
  • Murweh,
  • Napranum,
  • Pormpuraaw,
  • Quilpie,
  • Richmond,
  • Winton,
  • Yarrabah.