2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Award Winners Congratulated By Minister

2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Award Winners Congratulated By Minister

Queensland Minister for Racing Stirling Hinchliffe

Thoroughbred Awards Honour Queensland Racing’s Best And Brightest

Victor P Taffa

Minister for Racing Stirling Hinchliffe has congratulated Queensland’s thoroughbred industry participants, whose highest achievers were honoured overnight at the 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards.

Minister Hinchliffe said the awards were a fitting tribute not only to the winners, but also to the more than 40,000 Queenslanders employed or engaged in the State’s racing industry.

“Queensland’s racing industry is packed with talent and this was on full display at last night’s awards.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“29 award recipients included 5 new inductees into the Racing Queensland Hall of Fame.”

“I want to congratulate all the award winners and pay tribute to the outstanding contribution they make to the Queensland racing industry.” Minister Hinchliffe said.

“Participants are the beating heart of the Queensland racing industry and they work extremely hard to ensure our sport continues to grow each year.” Racing Queensland CEO Brendan Parnell said.

“It is important that we stopped to celebrate some of the remarkable achievements of our participants over the past 12 months.”

Premiership winners from across the state were recognised on the night, including:

  • Queensland’s provincial and overall Premier Trainer Ben Currie,
  • Provincial Premiership Jockey Justin Stanley,
  • Country Trainer Bevan Johnson,
  • Country Jockey Dan Ballard.

Jag Guthmann-Chester won the prestigious Ken Russell Queensland Apprentice of the Year after taking the metropolitan apprentices’ premiership.

Also Recognised Were:

  • Nathan Fazackerly (Country Apprentice),
  • Baylee Nothdurft (Provincial Apprentice).

Among the 5 participants to be inducted into the Racing Queensland Hall of Fame was former The Courier-Mail Racing Editor and current BRC Racing Manager, Bart Sinclair.

Mr. Sinclair is recognised as one of Queensland’s greatest ambassadors for racing and has been part of the Hall of Fame voting panel since the 1980’s.

Other inductees included:

  • Champion galloper of the early 1900’s, Molly’s Robe,
  • Jockey Fred Shean,
  • Trainer Con Doyle,
  • Associate Ceb Barnes.



BRC                Brisbane Racing Club

CEO                Chief Executive Officer