In Welfare Services

Western Australia Minister for Local Government John Castrilli

Funding To Plan For Services To Indigenous Communities In WA

Victor P Taffa

Regional local governments whose boundaries include Indigenous Communities are set to benefit from State Government funding for the provision of municipal services.

Local Government Minister John Castrilli said $1.44 Million would be provided across three years from 2009-10 to 22 regional local governments to develop business plans for service delivery to indigenous communities.

“The development of business plans is a step towards improving the circumstances of Aboriginal West Australians and will provide the resources to address the infrastructure and assets requirements.” Mr. Castrilli said.

“The aim is to have the same levels of service which are found in non-indigenous communities reflected in Aboriginal communities.”



“The business plans were a key recommendation of the Local Government Advisory Board’s 2008 ‘Report on the Inquiry into Local Government Service Delivery to Indigenous Communities’ and the State Government is pleased to have allocated funding for this initiative in its budget.” the Minister said.

“A template has been prepared to form a foundation for each business plan and Department of Local Government officers will provide support and assistance to individual local governments to develop their plans.”

Local governments that will have the opportunity to access funding are:

  • Shires of Ashburton;
  • Broome;
  • Carnarvon;
  • Coolgardie;
  • Derby/West Kimberley;
  • Dundas;
  • East Pilbara;
  • Halls Creek;
  • Laverton;
  • Leonora;
  • Meekathara;
  • Menzies;
  • Mullewa;
  • Murchison;
  • Ngaanyatjarraku;
  • Northampton;
  • Roebourne;
  • Upper Gascoyne;
  • Wiluna and Wyndham-East Kimberley;
  • City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder;
  • The Town of Port Hedland.

The source of this funding is the capacity building component of the Royalties for Regions Country Local Government Fund.

Funding is in addition to that allocated to those country local governments participating in a Regional Transition Group or Regional Collaborative Group as part of the State Government’s reform initiative.


Start typing and press Enter to search