$1.4 Million Over Four Years Funding For Celebrate WA

$1.4 Million Over Four Years Funding For Celebrate WA

Western Australia Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests John Castrilli

Minister Salutes Remarkable Citizens And Announces Funding For Celebrate WA

Victor P Taffa

Citizenship and Multicultural Interests Minister John Castrilli today praised the outstanding citizens and service organisations honoured in this year’s 39th Annual Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards.

Mr. Castrilli also announced additional funding of $1.4 Million over four years to one of the major promoters of the event, Celebrate WA.

“Celebrate WA is dedicated to fostering strong and inclusive communities in Western Australia.” Mr. Castrilli said.

“As an organisation, Celebrate WA assists in the delivery of programs and events that promote multiculturalism and participation and contribution in public life and the State Government is proud to be involved.”

“This year’s 2011 Western Australian Citizen of the Year Awards saw the presentation of the prestigious ‘Sir Ronald Wilson Leadership Award’ to Professor Samina Yasmeen of the School of Social Science and Cultural Studies at The University of Western Australia.”

Professor Yasmeen received the award for her services in human rights, Muslim minority affairs and foreign policy.

The Community Service Award was presented to George Jones, renowned for his business expertise and significant contribution to the finance and mining sectors in Western Australia.

The Professions Award went to Professor Ralph Martins for his work over a quarter of a century, as a researcher and world leader in the field of Alzheimer’s disease.

Other awards were presented in the areas of:

  • Youth,
  • Sport,
  • Youth Art,
  • Industry and Commerce,
  • The Governor’s Award for Regional Development,
  • The Gold Swan,
  • Arts,
  • Cultural and Entertainment,
  • Indigenous Leadership.

The Minister said one of the greatest honours for a West Australian was to receive recognition of their achievements as a citizen and would like to congratulate everyone involved in this year’s event.