Tim Abey Departs The Tasmanian Industrial Commission

Tim Abey Departs The Tasmanian Industrial Commission

Tasmania Treasurer Peter Gutwein

Departure Of President Tim Abey From The TIC

Victor P Taffa

The Tasmanian Government extends its best wishes to departing Tasmanian Industrial Commission (TIC) President, Mr. Tim Abey, who has dedicated more than 43 years’ of his professional life to industry support and industrial relations, Treasurer Peter Gutwein said.

Mr. Abey became a member of the TIC in August 2000, before being appointed Deputy President in February 2010, and President in 2012.

Prior to commencing with the TIC, Mr. Abey served 27 years for the Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

During this time he had some 21 years’ experience as an industrial relations practitioner and manager, before leading the organisation as Chief Executive from 1994 to 2000.

The high regard Mr. Abey is held in is evidenced by the various memberships he has occupied, including Directorships of Tasplan, Tasmanian Electronic Commerce Centre, and the Tasmanian Employment Advisory Committee.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Abey for his 16 years of service with the TIC, and his commitment to preventing and settling industrial disputes. I wish him well with his future endeavours.” Treasurer Gutwein said.

Pursuant to s15 (4) of the Industrial Relations Act 1984, Deputy President Nicole Wells has been acting as President since 4 March 2016.

“The process of appointing a new President is well underway and I look forward to making an announcement in due course.” Treasurer Gutwein said.